Ladies for Life

Mother’s Day thoughts

Posted on: May 8, 2009

From today’s Lutherans For Life email:

According to Elizabeth, Mary was not an expectant mother. “And why is this granted to me that the mother of my Lord should come to me?” (Luke 1:43) Elizabeth refers to Mary as already being a mother. He was smaller than the tip of a pin, but her child, Jesus, already existed within her. She was as much His mother then as she was when He was born or in the temple at 12 or when He began His ministry at 30.

 

“Expectant mother” is a contradiction. If you are pregnant, you are a mother! It’s a biological fact, and yet one denied day after day to make abortion palatable. But abortion does more than terminate a pregnancy, it terminates a child. Abortion does not end motherhood, it makes someone the mother of a dead child.   

 

Some may think it insensitive to connect abortion and Mothers’ Day. But mothers of aborted babies make that connection, and they need our prayerful support. Jesus loved and cared for His mother from the cross. He loves and cares for all mothers through the cross. His unconditional love exhibited there flows through the arms of mothers every day to countless children. His complete forgiveness purchased there flows through His Word and Sacraments every day to countless sinners who find hope and healing as His children. 

 

So instead of saying someone is an “expectant mother,” send them a Mothers’ Day card! They already are someone’s mom! 

 

Grace and peace in Christ to all of you and especially to all you mothers.

 

Your servant For Life,

 

Jim Lamb

Personally, I don’t see “expectant mother” as a contradiction, but that’s because I see it as talking about a certain type of mother – just as I might speak of an experienced mother, or a bereaved mother, or a doting mother, or what have you. But if there are folks who truly translate “expectant” as “not-quite” or “not-yet”, I guess I need to be more careful how I use the phrase.

On the other hand, I’m all for wishing Happy Mother’s Day to pregnant ladies, and wishing Happy Father’s Day to the fathers of babies in the womb.

Your thoughts?

3 Responses to "Mother’s Day thoughts"

I know of couple people actually, who think they’re not a mother (or a grandmother or an aunt or whatever) until the baby’s born. “I can’t wait until the baby’s born and I’ll be a mother!” or “I can’t wait to be a grandmother! Only 4 more months left until the due date!” or something like that.

I can see it in the sense of “I’m a Mama since the baby was conceived, and we’re expecting him/her in December.”

Last year when I was pregnant, both myself and my husband received Mother’s and Father’s Day blessings at our church. Monsignor blessed (sign of the cross over my belly) our little one until she was born!

Great article, though. 🙂

Kim, Hooray for your church! I wish more churches would do that.

As for the other, I used to be that way myself, as in “I’ll be an aunt soon…”. (Of course, back in those days I wasn’t Christian, and I was ‘pro-choice’ to some degree, God help me.) Also, I know some people think that by not counting themselves a grandmother, or whatever, until the baby is born, that they’re being careful to ‘not boast about tomorrow’. I can understand that, but… I don’t think it’s boasting about tomorrow if you’re admitting the humanity – and the existence – of the baby (and your relationship to it) before the child is born. There’s also the consideration that of course everyone concerned knows there will be great changes after the baby is born, and so are counting the days until due date. And then…

In other words, I’m not the least inclined to be a hardliner on this, but on the other hand I do see Lamb’s point. If we aren’t careful, we can unwittingly bolster the notion that a woman can decide if she’s a mother – after she’s already pregnant. Which, of course, she can’t.

In East Asian age reckoning, a person’s age is counted from the moment of conception. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/East_Asian_age_reckoning

Since I’m Singaporean Chinese, I’ve become accustomed to thinking of my “Western age” and “Chinese age”; when I first heard about my “Chinese age”, it sounded strange because I was used to Western age reckoning, but now it makes perfect sense =)

pax tecum!

Leave a Reply

Welcome. This is just another place for pro-life ladies to meet and share and offer support to one another.
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 7,866 hits

RSS Alliance Alert/ Sanctity of Human Life feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS LifeNews.com news feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
