Ladies for Life

Why a vigil there?: or, One conversation at a time

Posted on: September 23, 2010

Last night, I was visiting with a retired couple that was visiting relatives of mine, and I was bemoaning that there weren’t any 40 Days for Life vigils within commuting distance of here, or within commuting distance of a nephew I wanted to visit, or within commuting distance of my parents-in-law, either. I had assumed there would be a vigil I could join, but so far, to my frustration, it’s not working out.

From their reaction, I realized that these folks had never heard of 40 Days for Life, so I told them about that, and what I admired, respected and liked about how the program goes about doing what it does. I stressed the high standards for conduct, the peacefulness, the prayers for the workers as well as the clients, etc.

The wife said that she had seen a vigil something like that near where they lived, but it must not (she said) be the same thing, because they were outside a Planned Parenthood clinic instead of an abortion clinic. From the way she said it, it was clear that she thought it odd these folks thought there would be anything worth protesting at a Planned Parenthood clinic.

Thanks be to God somehow I was given words and attitude to deal with her confusion without dismay or exasperation or impatience. I explained that Planned Parenthood was in the abortion business, and probably that clinic did abortions there.

She was shocked. “Oh,’ she said, ‘I didn’t know that.”

Keep chatting, ladies. You can’t know when you’ll stumble into honest ignorance.

Leave a Reply

Welcome. This is just another place for pro-life ladies to meet and share and offer support to one another.
September 2010
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 7,875 hits

RSS Alliance Alert/ Sanctity of Human Life feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS LifeNews.com news feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
